Homage to Igor Stravinsky’s – Rite of Spring.

When first performed, at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées on 29 May 1913, the avant-garde nature of the music and choreography caused a sensation and a near riot in the audience.

The concept behind The Rite of Spring, developed by Roerich from Stravinsky’s outline idea, is suggested by its subtitle, “Pictures of Pagan Russia in Two Parts”; in the scenario, after various primitive rituals celebrating the advent of spring, a young girl is chosen as a sacrificial victim and dances herself to death.

Adoration of the Earth – Rite of Spring (part 1)

In six parts, reading anti-clockwise from 11 o’clock.

1 – Augurs of Spring

2 – Ritual of Abduction

3 – Spring Rounds

4 – Ritual of the Rival Tribes

5 – Procession of the Sage

6 – Dance of the Earth

The Sacrifice – Rite of Spring (part 2)

In six parts, reading clockwise from 1 o’clock.

1 – Mystic Circles of the Young Girls

2 – Glorification of the Chosen One

3 – Evocation of the Ancestors

4 – Ritual Action of the Ancestors

5 – Sacrificial Dance

6 – Rebirth

Click on this image to hear the music




Shopping cart


No products in the cart.